A workaround for the cursor jumping on “Save” in WordPerfect

October 3, 2009 at 10:35 pm

A few recent versions of WordPerfect (including some builds of WP 11, 12 and X4**) occasionally exhibit odd (and frustrating) behavior: The cursor jumps to another position in the document when you save your edits. It doesn’t seem to matter which method you use — clicking the “Save” icon, pressing Ctrl S (or Ctrl F12, if you use the DOS-compatible keyboard), or using the “Save” command on the file menu. The results are the same regardless.

What makes this problem even more mysterious is that it doesn’t happen consistently. I have been using WordPerfect 12 at my part-time job for several years, and most of the time it works just fine. But every now and then I save a document I’m working on, and moments later I glance at the screen and realize that I’ve been inserting text in the wrong place because of one of those infernal cursor leaps.

We’ve wrestled with this issue a few times on WordPerfect Universe, and people have suggested a couple of possible fixes. Perhaps the most commonly mentioned solution involves unchecking the “Auto-generate” option in the References toolbar (click the Tools menu, Reference, then click either Table of Contents or Table of Authorities and, when the toolbar appears, look for the checkbox in the lower left-hand corner). When Auto-generate is enabled, WP attempts to generate a TOC and/or a TOA each time you save the document (even if the doc doesn’t contain TOC or TOA codes), and the cursor hops to another location.

As it turns out, however, “Auto-generate” isn’t checked in any of the versions of WP where I’ve encountered the problem. In a way, I was disappointed to discover that fact, because it ruled out a quick and easy remedy.

Then the other day, I noticed something that gave me pause. The cursor jumped on “Save” when the mouse was hovering in such a way that the I-beam pointer was visible within the document margins. When I moved the mouse so that the pointer was outside the margins (and specifically, when it was near the vertical scroll bar or the Application bar), the cursor did not jump on “Save.”

I tested repeatedly, and the results seemed fairly consistent. So now I try to make sure the mouse pointer is not within the document editing screen when I’m typing. If I need to move the mouse in order to click a menu or perform some similar task, I position it carefully when I put it back. As long as the I-beam pointer rests outside the document margins, I seem to be able to save normally, without the cursor landing in some other part of the document.

If you’re having a problem with a jumping cursor and you’re sure that the “Auto-generate” option in the References toolbar is unchecked, try the workaround I mention in this post. It could “Save” you from tearing your hair out!

**A few people who use WP X3 have reported the problem, but interestingly, I’ve never seen it myself with X3. It’s possible that I’ve applied a service pack that resolved the issue. (On the other hand, we just started using X4 at work, and the release we installed definitely suffers from restless cursor syndrome. It doesn’t make sense to me that Corel fixed the problem in a patch for X3 but the fix didn’t persist in X4.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Repeat Previous Command (Word, recent versions) Creating a header row in a table (Word 2007)


© Jan Berinstein 2009-present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of one or more articles posted on this blog -- i.e., without express written permission from the blog’s author -- is strictly prohibited. You may use brief excerpts and/or links, provided that you give full, accurate, and prominent credit to Jan Berinstein, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Inspired By My Trainees

Some trainers teach at the speed of light. I prefer to teach at the speed of enlightenment.

Knowledge is empowering. Pass it on!

Buy my Word 2016, Word 2010, or Word 2007 book

To buy my book, Formatting Legal Documents With Microsoft Word 2016, on Amazon.com, click this link .

There is no preview of the Word 2016 book on Amazon, but you can see / download the Table of Contents by clicking this link to the TOC.

To buy my book, Formatting Legal Documents With Microsoft Word 2010, on Amazon.com, click this link .

There is no preview of the Word 2010 book on Amazon. However, you can see a preview - or buy a slightly older version of the book - on Lulu.com by clicking the gray "Buy Now - Lulu" button.
Support
independent publishing: Buy this book on Lulu.

To buy my first book, Formatting Legal Documents With Microsoft Office Word 2007 on Amazon.com, click this link. There is no preview of the Word 2007 book on Amazon. However, you can see a preview - or buy a slightly older version of the book - on Lulu.com by clicking the blue "Buy Now - Lulu" button.
Support independent publishing: buy this book on Lulu.

One good tip deserves another

Have you learned something useful from these tips? If so, please express your appreciation (and help keep the blog going) by contributing $5.00, $10.00, or more. It's easy!

Many thanks for your support!

NOTE: Your donation is not tax-deductible (but it does support a worthy cause!).


